WWW Wednesday #9

Hi, everyone!

Gifcussion - respond to the gif above with another gif - Forum ...

Long time no see! Honestly I haven’t written a post in like 2 weeks so happy I scheduled some because I was busy and then I was not at home and now I’m just in a weird state of not being able to be productivity. It’s probably because of the weather. It’s rainy and gloomy and it makes me feel tired and not in the mood for anything. But I promise I’m slowly getting back into writing and reading.

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a Word of Worlds. It consists of answering three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Because it has been a while since my last update, I have quite a few books to talk about. So, without further-a-do…

Let’s get into it!

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) – Maggie Stiefvater

17675462. sy475

Yes, I gave in. I started my marathon of The Raven Cycle earlier than I planned. But I’m a mood reader, so what can I do?

The Raven Boys is a reread for me. But, let me tell you, I missed this world so much. I mean, it’s our world but Maggie Stiefvater constructs the atmosphere so well that these books exhale magic. And reading about these characters again is like remeeting old friends that you know everything about.

I’m really enjoying my reread.

picsart_11-27-08-1308779153.png

We Are The Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

23677341. sy475

I started this only yesterday so I don’t have many thoughts yet. But the concept is so interesting!!

We Are The Ants follows a teenage boy named Henry who has been periodically abducted by aliens for the past few years. Now they’re giving him a choice. In 144 days, the world will end and he can stop it anytime until then by pushing this button. But he thinks of all the misery that is in the world – and all the pain and misery there is in his life – and he’s not sure he wants the world to be saved.

I feel like this will be such an interesting book about humanity and hope and the power to change. I really hope I love it.

picsart_11-27-08-1308779153.png

I Am Nobody’s Nigger by Dean Atta

17329197

After reading The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta (which I will talk about below) I was craving a bit more poetry. And since this poetry collection is on Scribd, I decided give it a try.

I am by no means a poetry critic. I write poetry as well so I’m at the same time overly critical, painfully oblivious and just enjoying the word and the message. That’s why I made a rule that I will never try to critique poetry or break it down. I just go with it and enjoy the message and the words.

With that said, I think Dean Atta is truly talented. He writes about difficult topics with pain but also hope and he knows how to pack a punch.

Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

41150487. sy475

I finally finished it well, like, about two weeks ago!! And it was so so cute and very sexual at some points.

This is, I think, the first time I’m reading an Adult/New Adult Romance. And it was GOOD, y’all. I wouldn’t say it’s a new favorite or that it opened my eyes to something. But it was funny and sweet and just a really nice experience.

And Alex was very relatable. I didn’t realize that while reading the book, but thinking about it I can see a lot of me in him (Like the constant state of not being able to live in the moment and just waiting for the future). And I liked how everyone had their own shit going on. I liked the family dynamics and the friendships.

And I’m just gonna drop this Goodreads update here because I think this is the truest thing I’ve said on Goodreads. Ever.

Overall, it was a really enjoyable and sweet read about love and acceptance and living in the present.

picsart_11-27-08-1308779153.png

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

19547856

What can I say? I love Simon. This is great book. And I love it even more after this reread.

I just love how well-crafted the characters were. Everyone had their own personality and it felt like you could write a book with each one of them in the main role and it would be great I’ll just continue to pretend Leah On The Offbeat does not exist…

And everything in this book was so hearth-warming. It’s a great summer read. And it’s a great everything read because it’s just great.

picsart_11-27-08-1308779153.png

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

41020406. sx318

I think this book talks beautifully and in depth about some really hard topics. It’s painful at times and inspiring and I would surely recommend it.

It’s basically the story of this boy, from his childhood to university correct me if I’m wrong and him dealing with his father not being around, his race, his sexuality and overall finding a way to become the person he wasn’t to be. Michael’s story is sad and he is very very confused. He’s trying to find his liberty and his voice and I think that’s a topic a lot of teens and young adults struggle with.

Unfortunately, I discovered that stories told in verse and through poems don’t really work with me. It felt more messy than the usual novel format and I felt like I was seeing fragments of scenes and monologues instead of a nice flowing story. That’s totally a me thing and, even if it took away from enjoyment, I’m not going to rate this book anyways. As I said before, I don’t rate poetry anymore because it feels way too personal for me to rate. Like rating someone’s soul. So I’m here just to pick up some messages and enjoy it.

picsart_11-27-08-1308779153.png

So, this was all for today, guys! Thank you so much for reading!!

What are you currently reading? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? What did you think about them?

Let’s chat in the comments!

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #9

  1. Yes yes yes to the Raven Cycle reread! So excited for you. Also, please review We Are the Ants when you finish it (or at least blurb it)! I’d like to know your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my god!! I just finished my reread of the first book, The Raven Boys, and it was so good!! I’m picking up The Dream Thieves right away.

      As for We Are The Ants, everything has a really sad tone. Like, everyone has been through a lot. I think it will have a hopeful ending and that it will make me emotional.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment